02:52 GMT +319 October 2019
Listen Live
    General view of the concluding senior official's meeting in Da Nang, Vietnam, November 6, 2017

    Chilean Delegate Hopes Newly Adopted APEC Economic Plan to Bear Fruit

    © REUTERS / Luong Thai Linh/Pool
    Asia & Pacific
    Get short URL
    0 10

    Monday marks the beginning of the APEC Economic Leaders’ week, which brings together the high-level business' representatives from the APEC member-states and precedes the summit that will kick of next week.

    DA NANG (Vietnam) (Sputnik) — Participants of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation's (APEC) Concluding Senior Officials' Meeting (CSOM) on Monday endorsed the action agenda on promoting economic, financial and social inclusion, which is one of the initiatives put forward by Vietnam, Marcela Otero, a senior official with the Chilean Foreign Ministry, told Sputnik.

    "Today's deliverables of Vietnam are of great importance — that is the current agenda for social, financial and economic inclusion," Marcela Otero, the director of the Chilean ministry's Directorate on Multicultural Economic affairs, noting that the adopted document is a part of a work plan for the 2030 APEC Sustainable Development Agenda. The agenda is also focused on granting women, youth and small and medium-sized enterprises access to financial instruments.

    (File) Russian President Vladimir Putin attends a news conference at the Kremlin in Moscow, Russia, on January 17, 2017 and U.S. President Donald Trump seen at a reception ceremony in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, on May 20, 2017, as seen in this combination photo
    © REUTERS / Sputnik/Alexei Druzhinin, Bandar Algaloud/Courtesy of Saudi Royal Court
    On November 6-11, the Vietnamese coastal city of Da Nang is hosting the APEC Economic Leaders’ Week with the high-level delegations from the APEC member states. APEC summit is scheduled on November 10-11.

    APEC is an international trading bloc, that comprises more than a half of the world's GDP and 49% of world trade. Established in 1989, APEC includes 21 members of the Asia-Pacific countries — namely Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, the United States and Vietnam.


    Trump Says May Meet Putin at APEC Leaders' Meeting in Vietnam
    US Position at APEC Trade Ministers Summit Non-Constructive - Russian Minister
    APEC Summit Reflects Drop in US Economic Clout Amid Rise of Russia, China
    Ponchos, Silly Shirts and Shawls: Chose the Best of APEC's Fashion Diplomacy
    plan, economic, APEC, Chile, Vietnam
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik