07:52 GMT +321 October 2019
Listen Live
    View of the Central Business District at sunset in Beijing

    Seven New Free Trade Zones to Be Created in China

    © AFP 2019 / MARK RALSTON
    Asia & Pacific
    Get short URL

    Seven new free trade zones will be created in China in addition to the four zones that already exist in the country, China’s State Council said on Friday.

    BEIJING (Sputnik) — According to the Council's statement, the new zones will be created in the Liaoning, Zhejiang, Henan, Hubei, Sichuan, Shaanxi provinces and the Chongqing municipality.

    As of today, there are four free trade zones in China, namely in Shanghai, Tianjin and Guangdong and Fujian provinces.

    In July 2016, China’s State Council eased the rules for foreign investors in the four free trade zones. Among other measures taken by the country’s authorities, investors were temporarily allowed to establish wholly-owned subsidiary companies in the free trade areas.


    Beckham's '48 Hours in China' Post Sparks Netizen Controversy
    China’s Manufacturing PMI For March at 5-Year-High – Statistics Bureau
    China Hopes For Positive Outcome of Trump-Xi Meeting – Vice FM
    zone, province, free trade, China's State Council, China
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik