Listen Live
    Chair of the Nobel Committee Thorbjorn Jagland holds a lecture

    2014 Nobel Award Ceremony to Take Place Wednesday in Stockholm, Oslo

    © Images / Ragnar Singsaas
    Get short URL
    0 42

    The annual Nobel Prize award ceremony will take place today in Oslo and Stockholm. This year's 13 Nobel Prize laureates, announced October 10, are from the United States, France, Norway, Germany, Japan, India and Pakistan.

    STOKHOLM, December 10 (Sputnik) — Thirteen Nobel Prize winners will receive awards during Wednesday ceremonies in Norway's Oslo and Sweden's Stockholm.

    The annual award ceremony is held December 10 – the anniversary of the death of the man who invented dynamite, Alfred Nobel, the founder of the Nobel Awards and a Swedish industrialist.

    This year's 13 Nobel Prize laureates, announced October 10, are from the United States, France, Norway, Germany, Japan, India and Pakistan.

    The oldest prize winner is 85 year-old Japanese physicist Isamu Akasaki and the youngest — not only this year but also in the history of the Nobel Prize – is 17 year-old Malala Yousafzai, a Pakistani activist.

    The ceremony will begin in Oslo, where the Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded to Indian activist Kailash Satyarthi and Pakistani teenager Malala Yousafzai for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education. Prizes will also go to those who have made significant contributions in the fields of medicine, physics, chemistry, literature and economics.

    This year's Nobel Prize for Literature will be awarded to French writer Patrick Modiano.

    The 2014 Nobel Prize in physics will be awarded to Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura for the invention and development of efficient and environment-friendly blue light-emitting diodes (LED).

    Jean Tirole will receive the Nobel Prize in Economy for his analysis of market power and regulation.

    John O'Keefe from University College in London and husband-and-wife team May-Britt and Edvard Moser from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology will receive this year's Nobel Pr

    ize for medicine for their research on human brain cells.


    Russian Tycoon Buys Off Nobel Prize to Return to DNA Co-Discoverer
    Nobel Peace Prize Laureates Urge Obama to Release US Torture Report
    Nobel Peace Prize Winner Malala Calls on Obama to Promote Books, Not Bombs
    Jean Tirole Gets Nobel Prize in Economy for Analysis of Market Regulation
    peace, education, research, science, human rights, Nobel Prize, Norway, Sweden
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik