- Sputnik International, 1920
When a picture is worth a thousand words. See what's happening in the world from a more visual perspective with Sputnik's photo galleries, infographics and other multimedia content.

From Application to Accession: How Long it Took for Different NATO Members to Join the Alliance

On 18 May 2022, against the backdrop of the Russian special military operation in Ukraine, Sweden and Finland applied for NATO membership, putting an end to decades of neutrality.
Twelve countries - France, Italy, Portugal, Iceland, Great Britain, Belgium, Norway, Denmark, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Canada and the United States - were the first to sign the NATO accession treaty. Today, the number of NATO member states has grown to 30.
NATO has expanded eight times in its history.
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала