Registration was successful!
Please follow the link from the email sent to

Algeria Extends Curfew, Quarantine Measures in 29 Provinces

© AP Photo / Anis BelghoulMedics in Algeria
Medics in Algeria - Sputnik International
MOSCOW (Sputnik) - The Algerian authorities have extended the COVID-19 curfew and quarantine restrictions in 29 provinces out of 48 for 15 days, according to the office of Prime Minister Abdelaziz Djerad.
"Following consultations with the science committee and the health authorities as well as having reviewed the health situation across the country, Prime Minister Abdelaziz Djerad, with the agreement of the republic's president, has decided to extend the measures ... of the mechanism to fight and prevent the coronavirus (COVID-19) from spreading", the office said in a statement.

Among the extended restrictions will be the traffic ban, with the exception of passenger and cargo transports.

The citizens of 29 provinces will also have to stay at home from 8 pm to 5 am local time (19:00 to 04:00 GMT).

As of 26 July, Algeria has confirmed more than 26,357 novel coronavirus cases, along with a death toll of 1,136, according to the World Health Organisation dashboard.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала