Registration was successful!
Please follow the link from the email sent to

Welcome to the Club: Bolivia, Ethiopia, Italy, Kazakhstan, Sweden to Enter UNSC

© REUTERS / Lucas JacksonMembers of the United Nations Security Council
Members of the United Nations Security Council - Sputnik International
Bolivia, Ethiopia, Italy, Kazakhstan and Sweden will begin their two-year term as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council on Sunday, January 1.

MOSCOW (Sputnik) — The countries are replacing Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain and Venezuela, whose mandate expired on December 31.

Foreign Ministers vote during a UN Security Council meeting on Syria at the United Nations in New York on December 18, 2015 - Sputnik International
UNSC Unanimously Adopts Russia-Backed Draft Resolution on Syrian Ceasefire
On January 1, 2018, the Netherlands will replace Italy as a non-permanent member of the council on January 1, 2018, according to an agreement reached by Rome and Amsterdam after they both received 95 votes each following five rounds of voting in the General Assembly.

The UN Security Council consists of 15 states, namely five permanent (Russia, France, China, the United States and the United Kingdom) and 10 non-permanent members that are to be elected for two years.

Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay will remain non-permanent members of the council, with their terms expiring on December 31, 2017.

Never miss a story again — sign up to our Telegram channel and we'll keep you up to speed!

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала