Registration was successful!
Please follow the link from the email sent to

EU Ministers to Discuss Extending Schengen Border Controls on Monday

© SputnikSchengen visa
Schengen visa - Sputnik International
EU interior ministers will meet in Amsterdam on Monday to discuss emergency measures that could pave the way for extending border controls within the Schengen free-travel zone.

MOSCOW (Sputnik) — Amid a massive refugee crisis a number of European countries, including Austria, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Germany and France, reintroduced temporary border controls to curb migration.

A migrant stands on a border gate as he and other migrants and refugees try to cross the Greek-Macedonian border near the village of Idomeni, Greece, on December 3, 2015. - Sputnik International
EU Interior Ministers Can Discuss Greece's Exclusion From Schengen Zone

The reintroduced border checks are due to expire in May, at which point the countries will be obliged to either lift the measures or extend them for a maximum period of two years.

"[The] interior ministers will on Monday in Amsterdam have the opportunity to discuss [the suspension of the Schengen Agreement]… and it's on the agenda what steps should be taken or will need to be taken once we near the end of the maximum period in May," European Commission spokeswoman Natasha Bertaud said at a press briefing last week.

Under current Schengen rules, a EU member country is allowed to restrict entry only temporarily. Free travel within the bloc is a fundamental principle of the European Union.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала