Russia Willing to Set Up Airbases in All CSTO Countries

© Sputnik / Sergey Kuznecov / Go to the photo bankInteraction-2014 exercises by Collective Rapid Reaction Force at Spassk
Interaction-2014 exercises by Collective Rapid Reaction Force at Spassk - Sputnik International
Russia is ready to set up airbases on the territory of all its allies in the framework the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev said on Tuesday.

Meeting of the heads of executive bodies of the SCO, CSTO, CIS and EurAsEC - Sputnik International
CIS, CSTO Members to Boost Military Ties in Face of Terrorism Threats
MOSCOW (Sputnik) — The CSTO is an intergovernmental military alliance formed in 1992 with six members at present: Russia, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Armenia and Belarus, as well as two observer states – Afghanistan and Serbia.

Russia currently has airbases in Kyrgyzstan and Armenia, and is planning to establish an airbase for fighter jets in eastern Belarus in 2016.

"We are ready to do it with all allied countries, be it CSTO members or CSTO plus union treaty as in the case with Belarus," Medvedev said.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала