- Sputnik International
Get the latest news from around the world, live coverage, off-beat stories, features and analysis.

Ukrainian Lawmakers Submit Bill on Country Leaving CIS

© Sputnik / Mikhail Markiv / Go to the mediabankUkraine parliament holds first session
Ukraine parliament holds first session - Sputnik International
The draft proposal on Ukraine exiting the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) was registered in the Ukrainian Parliament on Thursday, 27 November.

European Union Commissioner designate for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations Johannes Hahn - Sputnik International
No Excuse for Ukraine to Delay Reforms: European Commissioner
KIEV, November 27 (Sputnik) — Several representatives of the coalition of the Ukrainian Parliament, the Verkhovna Rada, have introduced a draft bill on Ukraine exiting the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), the parliament's official website said Thursday.

According to the statement, the draft proposal on Ukraine exiting the CIS was registered in the Ukrainian Parliament on Thursday. The full text of the bill has not been published.

According to the Verkhovna Rada website, the head of the Batkivshchyna (Fatherland) party Yulia Tymoshenko, the representative of the People's Front Party Vyacheslav Kyrylenko and the commissioner of the Ukrainian President on the Affairs of Crimean Tatars Mustafa Dzhemilev are among the proposal's authors.

Since the reunification of Crimea with Russia, Kiev authorities have repeatedly stated that they may reconsider their CIS membership. Kiev also abandoned its post as this year's rotating head of the CIS. In mid-October Ukrainian parliament members from the All-Ukrainian Union Svoboda Party also introduced a bill on Ukraine leaving the CIS to the Verkhovna Rada, but as the parliamentary elections were drawing close the bill was put aside.

Established on December, 1991, the CIS currently has nine full members — Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan — and two participating states –Turkmenistan and Ukraine.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала