Russian spacecraft set to return to Earth after delay

© NASAThe departure of the spacecraft was postponed on Friday for 24 hours due to a false alarm signal sent by an airlock sensor
The departure of the spacecraft was postponed on Friday for 24 hours due to a false alarm signal sent by an airlock sensor - Sputnik International
Subscribe
US
India
Global
The Russian Soyuz TMA-18 spacecraft with three crew members on board will make a second attempt to return to Earth from the International Space Station (ISS) on Saturday morning.

The Russian Soyuz TMA-18 spacecraft with three crew members on board will make a second attempt to return to Earth from the International Space Station (ISS) on Saturday morning, a Mission Control official said.

The departure of the spacecraft, piloted by Russian cosmonauts Alexander Skvortsov and Mikhail Korniyenko and NASA astronaut Tracy Caldwell-Dyson, was postponed on Friday for 24 hours due to a false alarm signal sent by an airlock sensor.

The new undocking attempt has been scheduled for 05.59 Moscow time (01.59 GMT) and the spacecraft is expected to land near the town of Arkalyk in Kazakhstan at 09.23 Moscow time (05.23 GMT) on Saturday.

Russian cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin and NASA astronauts Douglas Wheelock and Shannon Walker will continue working at the space station.

A new Russian Soyuz TMA-01M spacecraft equipped with a new digital computing and telemetric system will blast off from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on October 8 to bring Russian cosmonauts Alexander Kaleri and Oleg Skripochka and NASA astronaut Scott J. Kelly to the ISS.

 

MOSCOW, September 25 (RIA Novosti)

 

Newsfeed
0
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
loader
Chats
Заголовок открываемого материала