Registration was successful!
Please follow the link from the email sent to

Russia launches freighter with candies, books to ISS

© NASAThe International Space Station
The International Space Station - Sputnik International
Subscribe
Russia has launched a cargo module to the International Space Station (ISS), mission control said on Wednesday.

Russia has launched a cargo module to the International Space Station (ISS), mission control said on Wednesday.

The Progress M-05M freighter lifted off on a Soyuz-U rocket at 21:15 Moscow time [17:15 GMT] from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan and is due to dock with the ISS at 23:35 Moscow time [19:35 GMT].

Mission control said the spacecraft will deliver over 2.5 tons of supplies, including equipment, parcels from home, chocolate, candy, new video films and books.

Progress-series freighters have been the backbone of the Russian space cargo fleet for decades. In addition to their main mission as cargo spacecraft, they are used to adjust the ISS orbit and conduct scientific experiments.

Russia "buried" its last analog - as opposed to digitally controlled - space freighter, the Progress M-67, in the Pacific in September.

MOSCOW, April 28 (RIA Novosti) 

 

Newsfeed
0
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
loader
Chats
Заголовок открываемого материала