Registration was successful!
Please follow the link from the email sent to

Nine presidential candidates registered in Armenia

YEREVAN, January 18 (RIA Novosti) - Armenian election authorities have registered nine candidates for the country's presidential elections to be held on February 19, a spokesman said.

The candidates to replace President Robert Kocharyan, currently serving his final and second term, are:

Artur Bagdasaryan, a former speaker and now member of parliament, and leader of the opposition party Orinats Yerkir (Rule of Law)

Levon Ter-Petrosyan, Armenia's first president

Serzh Sarkisyan, prime minister and head of the ruling Republican Party

Artashes Gegamyan, head of the National Unity party

Vazgen Manukyan, former premier and leader of the National Democratic Union

Vaan Ovannesyan, deputy speaker and bureau member of the Dashnaktsutyun

Tigran Karapetyan, head of the ALM television company

Aram Arutunyan, leader of the Soglasie (agreement) party

Arman Melikyan, former advisor to the president of breakaway Nagorny Karabakh.

The election campaign officially kicks off on January 21 to last until February 17.

Preliminary election results are to be announced on February 20, and the final results will be officially made public on February 26.

Armenia held parliamentary elections on May 12. The Republican Party and other pro-presidential parties won a majority in the polls.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала