- Sputnik International
Russia
The latest news and stories from Russia. Stay tuned for updates and breaking news on defense, politics, economy and more.

Cargo plane crash kills seven at Moscow airport -1

Subscribe
International
India
Seven people were killed when a cargo plane crashed at Moscow's Domodedovo airport soon after take-off, a spokeswoman for the emergencies ministry said Sunday.
(Recasts, adds details in paragraph 2, additional information in paras 5-6)

MOSCOW, July 29 (RIA Novosti) - Seven people were killed when a cargo plane crashed at Moscow's Domodedovo airport soon after take-off, a spokeswoman for the emergencies ministry said Sunday.

A Russian An-12 freight plane, destined to fly to Bratsk (Eastern Siberia) with a stopover in Omsk (Western Siberia) took off at 04:16 a.m. Moscow time (12:16 a.m. GMT) and went off radar screens at 04:22 a.m. Moscow time (12:22 a.m. GMT). It crashed 4 km (2 miles) from the runway and burst into flames.

"According to the latest data, all the persons killed in the air crash are the plane's crewmembers," Yevgeniya Afanasyeva said.

The emergencies ministry earlier reported they were eight people on board the plane, including crewmembers and passengers.

The plane, which belonged to the cargo airline Atran, was built in 1964 and its service life was expected to expire in November.

The reasons for the plane crash were not immediately known. All of the plane's three flight recorders have been found. A criminal probe into the incident has been launched.

Newsfeed
0
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
loader
Chats
Заголовок открываемого материала