- Sputnik International
Russia
The latest news and stories from Russia. Stay tuned for updates and breaking news on defense, politics, economy and more.

63 fishermen on drifting ice in Russian water reservoir rescued

Subscribe
International
India
MOSCOW, January 13 (RIA Novosti) - More than 60 fishermen stranded on drifting ice in the Rybinsk Sea, a vast water reservoir on the Volga River and two of its tributaries in Central Russia, have been rescued, a local emergencies service said Saturday.

"The rescue operation ended at 7.30 p.m. Moscow time [4.30 p.m. GMT], no one was injured," the service said adding 34 rescuers, five motorboats and two hoverships were involved in the effort.

Earlier reports said there could be up to 100 fishing aficionados on the drifting ice floe in the Rybinsk Sea, one of the largest man-made bodies of water in the world located in the northernmost point of the Volga.

The incident was reported at 4.45 p.m. Moscow time [1.45 p.m. GMT], the service said.

Newsfeed
0
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
loader
Chats
Заголовок открываемого материала