- Sputnik International
Russia
The latest news and stories from Russia. Stay tuned for updates and breaking news on defense, politics, economy and more.

Nuclear power plant in North Russia reports generating unit's emergency shutdown

Subscribe
International
India
MOSCOW, October 28 (RIA Novosti) - The second generating unit of the Leningradskaya nuclear power plant near Russia's second largest city of St. Petersburg was shut down Saturday by an emergency protection system due to heavy winds, a Rosenergoatom spokesman said.

"An emergency situation was caused by a storm which hit the region," the spokesman for the state-run nuclear power generating monopoly said.

He said emergency shutdown of the unit's turbo generator No.3 took place at 6.58 Moscow time (2.58 a.m. GMT) after a 350-KV high-voltage cable short circuit. The turbine No.4 was shut at 7.15 Moscow time (3.15 a.m. GMT).

Background radiation at the plant and surrounding areas does not exceed the permitted level, he said.

Newsfeed
0
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
loader
Chats
Заголовок открываемого материала