CIS security alliance to set up peacekeeping, emergency management units

MOSCOW, September 15 (RIA Novosti) - Peacekeeping and emergency management units will soon be set up within the Collective Security Treaty Organization (a defense alliance of six former Soviet republics), its secretary general announced at a press conference Thursday.

Nikolai Bordyuzha said the organization's member states - Russia, Belarus, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan - had not yet worked out a consensus on four related agreements, but that they would hopefully be able to do that at the CSTO statutory bodies' forthcoming session in November.

Bordyuzha said the CSTO peacekeeping force would be fundamentally different from that formed by the Commonwealth of Independent States. One important difference is that it will be manned with service personnel from all the member states rather than exclusively from Russia, as in the CIS' case. Each of the countries will contribute units specializing in some particular field, such as military medicine or military engineering.

The emergency management force is to include rescue, sanitary and police units, among others, the CSTO chief said.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала