• eng
00:48 GMT +3 hours27 December 2014
Live
World

South Ossetia Begins 2nd Round of Presidential Election

World
100
Former Georgian republic of South Ossetia holds on Sunday the second round of presidential elections.

Former Georgian republic of South Ossetia holds on Sunday the second round of presidential elections.

The polling stations in South Ossetia will open at 8:00 a.m. Moscow time (4:00 GMT) and will be closed at 8:00 p.m. Moscow time (16:00 GMT). Experts predict that the voter’s turnout on Sunday will reach 60-70 percent.

None of the candidates received the required 50% plus one votes to win the first round, which was held on March 25.

The contestants in the second round are former chair of the State Security Committee Leonid Tibilov, who garnered 42.48% of votes in the first round, and the presidential human rights ombudsman David Sanakoyev, who previously won 24.58% of votes.

This time, the winner will be determined by a simple majority vote with at least 30% voter turnout.

Several dozen international observers will monitor the elections. The media coverage will be provided by more than 100 Russian and foreign reporters.