• eng
03:09 GMT +3 hours23 December 2014
Live
Science

Soyuz docks with International Space Station

Science
000
An online broadcast of the docking of a Soyuz TMA-22 with the International Space Station will be shown on EN.RIA.RU on November 16 starting at 9.25 Moscow time (5.25 GMT).

An online broadcast of the docking of a Soyuz TMA-22 with the International Space Station will be shown on EN.RIA.RU on November 16 starting at 9.25 Moscow time (5.25 GMT).

The crews are expected to meet at the Space Station at 11.30 Moscow time (7.30 GMT). The time of the broadcast may change due to unforeseen circumstances.

The Soyuz TMA-22 spaceship departed on Monday for the International Space Station. The start of the mission went successfully. Three new members of the ISS, Russians Anton Shkaplerov and Anatoly Ivanishin and NASA astronaut Daniel Burbank, are aboard the Soyuz spaceship. They will replace Russian flight engineer Sergei Volkov, NASA astronaut Mike Fossum and Japanese astronaut Satoshi Furukawa, who will return to Earth on November 22.

The new crew will stay aboard the station for some four months, the crew will receive the piloted spaceship Soyuz TMA-03M and a Progress-M cargo spaceship. They will put the Chibis (Pewit) microsatellite into a pod and place it in the Progress-M cargo spaceship, which will put it into orbit. The crew will conduct 37 experiments.