• eng
07:29 GMT +3 hours30 March 2015

65th Anniversary of Moscow’s ‘Seven Sisters’ Skyscrapers

Get short URL
On September 12, 1947, the people of Moscow celebrated the city’s 800th anniversary. On that day, the foundations of eight skyscrapers were laid all over Moscow in an impressive setting. But one of the eight buildings was never completed. Photo: Lomonosov Moscow State University in 1960.

Today, it is impossible to imagine contemporary Moscow without these skyscrapers called the “Seven Sisters.” They are the Soviet/Russian Foreign Ministry building on Smolenskaya Square; the Main Building of the Lomonosov Moscow State University on Sparrow Hills; the hotels Ukraine and Leningradskaya; two apartment buildings on Kudrinskaya Square and the Kotelnicheskaya Embankment; and an administrative/apartment building on Krasnye Vorota Square.